top of page

(C) Math Competition

Updated: May 14, 2019





Date : 12th~14th of November


CAS Learning Outcomes :

1. Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2. Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process.

5. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.


In our school, Math Competition was held by a group of students from “Math Club”.  When I first heard about this event, I definitely wanted to join the event. Although I don’t have an outstanding mathematical skill, I wanted to take a challenge. I felt less pressure as there were other two members who would work collaboratively with me to accomplish our common goal—winning the competition. In the competition, students were randomly picked to form a group of three people. My team members were people who are not very close to me, but it didn’t make any difference in working in the competition. If there were questions that I’m not able to solve, my team members helped me solving it, and I also helped them with the questions they don’t know but I know. We worked collaboratively to get the best results we can. As a result, we got the second place out of ten groups. Since it was the second place, we couldn’t make it to the finals but I was totally satisfied with the results. Math competition was a good chance to learn new mathematical skills, and it also helped me refreshing other mathematical concepts that I couldn’t remember.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page